MS Test: 933k to go

Multiple Sclerosis (MS) has lived within my body for close to twenty years. Although I have spent a great deal of time researching my disease, I know little more than when I was first diagnosed … and I am not alone. We still don’t know the cause or cure, what triggers attacks, why some of us have them and why others are spared.

One thing I have learned over the past year however is that there are a growing number of people defying the odds and perhaps the disease. They are athletes with Multiple Sclerosis.

This year, my act of defiance will be a 34 kilometer iron swim.

As I prepare for the swim I have become increasingly curious about is how my body will respond to the 10 to 12 hours it will take me to complete it. I am even more curious about how it will respond to the training leading up to it.

Over the next 23 weeks I will swim 933 kilometers (579 miles) to prepare. The test – will I be able to prepare my body in such a way that my MS can manage the strain?

Here’s a few links to other MS athletes (in no particular order):

If you know of other athletes with MS please contact me so I can include their stories in the list above.

3 Comments on “MS Test: 933k to go”

  1. It’s awesome to see such a big list! Thanks for putting this together. 🙂

  2. Thanks for the links to other athletes with MS. I was diagnosed a year ago and had run 4 marathons prior to diagnosis and have run 1 since my diagnosis. I’m currently training to run the Boston Marathon this April. It’s great to connect with other MS athletes.

  3. sheryl says:

    I went from not being able to walk, to a walker, to a cane, to walking all on my own. I walked to the end of the driveway, then to the end of the street, and eventually around the block and some days/good days two blocks. It took about 9 months to get the ball rolling but with exercise on the tread mill at the gym, so if fatigue set in I didnt have to far to get back home, and actively walking around the pool, I am now able to walk on my own and get places I need to be, allowing myself time to take a break if need be and even re-energize (coffee/juice and a muffin, yogurt, ham sandwich). I did the 6km MS walk with a few minor stops just to regroup in 2012 and am hoping to try 9km for 2013. If you still have the ability to get some kind of exercise DO IT. Try, Try and Try again. The pool is good because you dont have to worry about gravity. Take a support person to help, but I am confident the every little bit helps improve our quality of life. Anyone can be an athlete, it doesnt have to be major, it just have to be movement. Be strong and have faith. ❤


Leave a Reply

